Press Releases

2011 FETE

Friday, February 11, 2011
Honoring Governor Edward G. Rendell

(Philadelphia) The Wilma Theater will hold its first-ever Theater Lovers Fête on Friday February 11, 2011 from 7pm to 11pm at The Ormandy Ballroom of the Doubletree Hotel on the Avenue of the Arts. This year, the theater is pleased to honor Governor Edward G. Rendell with the Wilma Star Award. During his time as Mayor of Philadelphia, Rendell was instrumental in establishing the Avenue of the Arts with the opening of The Wilma Theater 15 years ago.

The Theater Lovers Fête, with sultry and sophisticated Parisian flair, will pay homage to the world-renowned Moulin Rouge. The evening will begin with a cocktail reception at 7pm, followed by a unique cabaret performance by The Bearded Ladies, an awards presentation, and dancing to the soulful sounds of LeRoy Hawks and the Hypnotics. Guests will experience a night of revelry accompanied by a grand silent auction, casino game tables, a sumptuous dessert buffet, and an aphrodisiac-inspired carte du jour.

“We are very pleased to honor Governor Rendell with the Wilma Star Award,” remarks Lewis Johnston, Chair of The Wilma Theater’s Board of Directors. “This award celebrates his success during his tenure in public service and applauds him for his unwavering commitment to the arts in Philadelphia.”

Rendell was elected Governor of Pennsylvania in 2002 and is currently completing his second term. Previously, he was General Chairperson of the Democratic National Committee, Mayor of the City of Philadelphia from 1992 through 1999, and District Attorney of the City of Philadelphia for two terms from 1978 through 1985. The Governor is a member of the faculty of the Fels Institute of Government at the University of Pennsylvania and a Comcast SportsNet football analyst. An Army veteran, Rendell is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania and Villanova University School of Law.

Mary Rucci, Director of Corporate Social Responsibility Communications for Aramark, serves as Chair of the Theater Lovers Fête. The Theater Lovers Fête Committee includes Julie Cassidy, James Haskins, Niki Ianni, Janet Rock, Brian Seaman, Amanda Spencer, Gillian Wakely, and Blanka Zizka.

Proceeds from the Fête will help the Wilma continue producing bold and inventive theater, supported by innovative educational programs like our Wilmagination public-school residencies serving students in the School District of Philadelphia, as a part of our ongoing campaign to Build the Audiences of Tomorrow.